Great British Railway Journeys: Series 1 to 3

Format: DVD

Passionate about trains, Michael Portillo charts the great British romance with the railways as he retraces journeys that were first documented in the monthly railway guide, Bradshaw's Handbook. He sees what's changed and discovers how our love of the railways all began.

This 14 disc DVD set features all 70 episodes from the first three series of Great British Railway Journeys.

Series 1
Covering 4 different journeys:

Liverpool to Scarborough
Preston to Kirkcaldy
Swindon to Penzance
Buxton to London

Michael explores the secret ammunition factory at Gretna, sails the last steam boat on Lake Windermere, learns to talk 'scouse' in Liverpool, takes a dip in Bath Spa, cooks a traditional curry in Birmingham, tries his hand at oyster fishing in Cornwall and meets survivors of the Coventry Blitz.

Series 2
Covering 5 different stories

Brighton to Cromer
Ledbury to Holyhead
Newcastle to Melton Mowbray
London Bridge to Hastings
Ayr to Skye

Michael samples some classic Cromer crab, gets a rare chance to drive a heritage diesel and gets up close and personal with a pedigree Hereford bull. He also discovers a secret World War II chemical weapons plant at Rhydmwyn, takes a steam train across the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, attempts to make an authentic Melton Mowbray pork pie, discovers how the railways turned cricket into a national sport and hunts for gold in Scotland's mountains.

Series 3:
Covering 5 different stories

Great Yarmouth to London
Windsor to Portland
Oxford to Milford Haven
Berwick-upon-Tweed to Isle of Man
Dublin to Londonderry

Michael follows the route of the Great Eastern Line, goes in the footsteps of Queen Victoria and travels west from Oxford in the heart of England through the Malvern Hills into Wales. On his fourth journey, he goes through some of the North's most dramatic scenery to end on the beautiful and unique Isle of Man with his final journey of the series taking him across the Irish sea.

Number of Discs
1.78:1 Colour
Stereo / English
0 / PAL
2056 mins